I THINK – aided by software – therefore I AM: Mathematical Woman, here I come!

Scottsdale Coral Reef project

Scottsdale Coral Reef project (Photo credit: crochetgal)

It may sound terribly presumptuous, especially for the English culture, when I write: Mathematical Woman, here I come. But I am old enough to wear a Purple Hat with pride and am just reading God, Physics and the Gender War.

The author Margaret Wertheim writes beautifully about science and the problems that it hasn’t solved yet – also in this TED discussion. And she writes about the Ascent of Mathematical Woman, besides all the reasons why women haven’t had equal chances yet. At the last event on Intelligent Imaging we were 64 participants and 4 women.

Her chapter on Rene Descartes who is famous for “I think, therefore I am“, reminded me of what I always claim: by practising ‘software-aided thinking’, I re-visited mathematics through the eyes of a mature programmer and came up not only with incredible insights, but also prototype software that produces unique screenshots by demonstrating three innovative software methods.

If men can be humble enough to express their admiration, I get a bit of positive body language. The professor who said “This is the most important work since relativity theory, because it’s about understanding number” claimed later I was mis-quoting him.

So I keep trying to find potential clients, collaborators and partners with whom to build smart knowledge portals without explaining the mathematics behind them.

Let the software drive the minds of its users
as an engine moves the car of its drivers:
without knowing how it works.

But humans want to know how things work around them:
the light that wakes them
the dark that puts them to sleep
the strong that holds them together
and the weak that lets things fall apart…

May Mathematical and Data Women repair
what has fallen apart in the past!

About Sabine Kurjo McNeill

I'm a mathematician, software designer, system analyst, event organiser, independent web publisher and online promoter.
This entry was posted in Image Analysis, Mathematics, Metrology, Philosophy, Science and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I THINK – aided by software – therefore I AM: Mathematical Woman, here I come!

  1. Pingback: INTELLIGENT Imaging @ UCL thanks to the Electronics, Sensors & Photonics KTN | 3D Metrics

  2. Pingback: TOWARDS a Gender-Balanced Agenda: with #WomenShiftDigital, #techmums, #savvify + Smart Knowledge Portals? | My "3D Metric" Universe…

  3. Pingback: TOWARDS an Equitable Society: balancing left- and right-brain activities |

  4. Pingback: #WomenShiftDigital – from books to ‘data based science’ and ‘Cyber Arts’ ?! | Sabine K McNeill

  5. Pingback: YOU NEED to Establish Your Right to Represent Melissa! | Melissa Laird

Leave a Reply

