Man Must Measure

Woman must measure, too! Especially on-screen!!!…

Frank Davis

It just appeared one day, out of nowhere, on the desk by the bedroom window. I picked it up and looked at it. It was a big book with not many pages in it, and with an arresting title in big black letters on the front, which read: MAN MUST MEASURE.

I must have been 7 or 8 years old, and I was living with my mother in my grandparent’s house when I drank in those words, which seemed to possess the force of a veritable Commandment.

I opened it, and discovered that it was both lavishly illustrated and also filled with numbers and diagrams. It was the strangest and most terrifying book I had ever encountered.

I began to read the book, a little fearful that I wasn’t supposed to be reading it. Much of it seemed incomprehensible, but on the third or fourth page I came across…

View original post 588 more words

Leave a Reply

